The 25-Year Service and Retirement Awards program was established by the Legislature to recognize state employees who have completed 25 years or more of state service. There are two types of awards - the Service Award and the Retirement Award. The Service Award recognizes employees who have completed 25 years of state service. The Retirement Award recognizes retiring employees who have completed 25 years or more of state service.Departments may purchase mementos for eligible employees directly from State Price Schedule service providers discussed below.State employees with questions about purchasing awards or their service and retirement award status should contact their Human Resources Office. Human Resources professionals may contact CalHR at (916) 322-1360 for additional information.
The appointing power may present a certificate, plaque, or other suitable memento to state employees with 25 years of completed state service. The cost may not exceed $90. A certificate may be purchased from the Office of State Publishing, or developed within your department. For additional help, feel free to contact the Merit Award Program Manager at (916) 322-1360.
A retiring state employee with at least 25 years of service may receive a 25-year Retirement Award. Departments may make a presentation to a retiring employee who on the date of his or her retirement had completed 25 or more years of state service. The cost may not exceed $90.
All state employees.
California Government Code Section 19849.9 - 25-Year Service and Retirement Award
As of February 1, 2017, Frank T. Marchello and MTM Recognition are identified as State Price Schedule service providers. Departments may utilize their Core Item and Non-Core Item catalogues to fulfill procurement orders.
On Cal eProcure, click on the link for “Get Public Procurement Information.” Then, you can search for vendor associated contract information using these associated numbers:
To request any additional State Price Schedule service provider documents, please contact the Merit Award Program Manager at email@example.com.
At the department’s discretion, employees may purchase a gift from the Non-Core gift website. The State of California will be responsible for the first $90 (plus the tax on $90). The employee is responsible for the balance. At the time of order, it is the employee's responsibility to pay anything above and beyond the $90, plus tax. No order will be officially placed until the employee’s portion is paid in full. The state’s portion of the payment will be standard state terms.
Yes. There is nothing in the current law that indicates an employee must choose between the 25 years of state service and the retirement award.
No. These are two separate award programs.
No. The law states "a certificate, plaque, or other suitable memento." Cash would not be considered a "suitable memento" since the definition of memento is "a reminder or a souvenir."
No, it is not mandatory to purchase a gift from the State Price Schedule service providers.
No. This award is in recognition of 25 years or more of state service.
No. Service Awards are based on qualifying months of state service.
Yes. The new department would provide the 25-year award.
The core items are those most commonly purchased by agencies for their employees and include watches, clocks, vases, etc. The service providers have provided additional "non-core" gift items available for purchase. The core items do not exceed $90. The non-core items vary in price from under $100 to $499.
Each department may establish their own internal policy for ordering service awards. Please check with your Merit Award Administrator or Human Resources office.
The State of California is responsible for the first $90 (plus the tax on the $90). The employee is responsible for the balance. Employees may contact their Merit Award Administrator or Human Resources Office for further details.
There are no time restrictions in the law; departments may establish reasonable time limits for their retiring employees.
For MTM Recognition: Three weeks is the normal turn-around time. If a shorter turn-around time is required, please contact Bryan Mular.
Service years are based on qualifying months of state service as indicated by the State Controller's Office. SCO and PERS calculate service time differently.
If you have any issues or concerns to report about a product purchased from a State Price Schedule service provider, please contact the Merit Award Program Manager at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Std. 65 - Purchasing Authority Purchase Order - PDF