State of California
Department of Human Resources
CalHR 025

Department of Human Resources 1515 S Street, 500N Sacramento, CA 95811

Phone: 916-322-0300 Fax: 916-322-3679

Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship

The Public Employees' Medical and Hospital Care Act (PEMHCA), allows employees and annuitants to enroll family members in the CalPERS Health Benefits Program. Pursuant to Title 2, California Code of Regulations, 599.500(o), a "parent-child relationship" (PCR) is established when you intentionally assume parental status or duties over a child who is not your adopted, step, or recognized natural child, and meet specific enrollment criteria. The Department of Human Resources Dental and Vision Programs follow the same criteria.

As specified in Section 599.500(o) and outlined below, you are required to substantiate a financial responsibility upon initial enrollment and annually thereafter, up to the child reaching age 26. You must submit a separate PCR Affidavit for each PCR dependent. For initial enrollment and recertifications, all required documents and information must be submitted within 60 days of acquiring the dependent or 90 days prior to the dependent's recertification date. Incomplete forms will not be accepted.

Note: Foster children and spouses of your adopted, step, and recognized natural children do not qualify for CalHR dental and vision coverage under any circumstances.

SECTION A: Employee/Annuitant Information						
1. Name (First)	(M.I.) (Last)	2. Social Security Number	3. Date of Birth			
4. Date you assumed the primary parental status or duties for the PCR dependent:						
5. Relationship to the PCR dependent:						
SECTION B: PCR Dependent Information						
6. Name (First)	(M.I.) (Last)	7. Social Security Number	8. Date of Birth			
9. Residential Address (if	f different from yours): (Street)	(City)	(State) (ZIP)			

SECTION C: Supporting Documentation Requirements

10. As evidenced by your selection below, you are certifying you have assumed parental status or duties and will provide the required supporting documentation for your PCR dependent with this Affidavit.

For a PCR Dependent Age 18 and under:

- Submit a copy of the first page of your federal or state income tax return such as IRS Form 1040 from the previous tax year listing the child as a tax dependent, **OR**
- In lieu of a tax return, for a time not to exceed one tax filing year and only during the child's initial enrollment as a PCR, you may submit copies of one Primary and two Secondary Supporting PCR Documents (see Supporting PCR Documentation)

Note: All future re-certifications of the child up until the age of 19, will require a copy of the first page of your federal or state income tax return from the previous tax year listing the child as a tax dependent. If you do not file taxes, you must submit at least one Primary and at least two additional Primary or Secondary PCR supporting documents and confirmation from the Internal Revenue Service, Franchise Tax Board, certified public accountant, tax preparer or other tax professional indicating that a tax return is not required.

For a PCR Dependent Age 19 to Age 26: Submit a copy of the first page of your federal or state income tax return such as IRS form 1040 from the previous tax year listing the child as a tax dependent, OR Select one of the following and provide information requested to substantiate the child is dependent on employee for more than 50 percent of their financial support:

The child resides with you rent free for more than 50 percent of the time: Submit at least one Primary and one additional Primary or Secondary Supporting PCR Document (see Supporting PCR Documentation) The child resides with you and pays rent OR is a full-time student and doesn't reside with you: Submit at least one Primary and two additional Primary or Secondary Supporting PCR Documents (see Supporting PCR Documentation)

Supporting PCR Documentation:

- Primary Supporting PCR Documentation includes: current legal judgments/court documents showing the employee's legal parental status or duties/guardianship over the child or current child's driver license, state identification, rental or lease agreements or other verifiable documents showing common residency, school or college records listing employee as the child's guardian or indicating common residency, or bank statements or other financial documentation reflecting rent payments for the child who does not reside with employee along with proof of payment made by employee.
- Secondary Supporting PCR Documentation includes: tuition payment(s), car insurance, vehicle registration, credit card statements, or other billing statements along with proof of payment made by employee, joint or child's bank statement showing recurring deposits along with proof that deposits were made by employee, medical or dental bills for the child along with proof of payment(s) made by employee.

Note: All supporting documents must have the child's name printed on them by the issuer. Additionally, all supporting documents except for legal judgements, court documents, driver licenses, state identification, vehicle registration, and rental/lease agreements must not be older than 60 calendar days from the date of signature on the Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship (CalHR 025).

SECTION D: Signature of Employee/Annuitant

- 11. I recognize this affidavit is a legally binding document. I accept full responsibility to notify my employer or CalHR of any changes pertaining to this PCR. I further understand the provision of California Government Code 20085, which states in part:
 - (a) It is unlawful for a person to do any of the following:
 - (1) Make, or cause to be made, any knowingly false material statement or material representation, to knowingly fail to disclose a material fact, or to otherwise provide false information with the intent to use it, or allow it to be used, to obtain, receive, continue, increase, deny or reduce any benefit administered by this system.
 - (2) Present, or cause to be presented, any knowingly false material statement or material representation for the purpose of supporting or opposing an application for any benefit administered by this system.

hereby certify under penalty of perjury, that the	information I have provided is true and correct to the best of				
	g documentation requested by my employer or CalHR. I				
•	ed upon initial enrollment and annually thereafter up to age 26. I				
also understand that certification includes submission of this Affidavit and the required supporting documents.					
Employee/Annuitant Signature	Date				

Important!

Active Employees: Return this Affidavit and the required supporting documents to your employer. **Retirees:** Return this Affidavit and the required supporting documents to CalPERS, if not already done.

SECTION E: For Employer Use Only					
12. I hereby certify under penalty of perjury as follows: That I am a duly appointed, qualified, and acting officer of the following agency:					
☐I have reviewed the above affidavit and verified the identity of the employee or annuitant submitting this affidavit.					
☐I recommend enrolling/re-certifying this PCR dependent based on the information provided and attached documentation [per CCR §599.500(o)].					
☐I do not recommend enrolling/re-certifying this PCR dependent based on the information provided and/or lack of supporting documentation [per CCR §599.500(o)].					
☐ Enroll ☐ Recertify ☐ Do not enroll	☐ Do not recertify				
Human Resources Manager Name (Print)	Human Resources Manager Signature	Date			
Health Benefits Officer Name (Print)	Health Benefits Officer Signature	Date			

Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship Instructions

Section A: Employee/Annuitant Information

Enter your name, Social Security number, date of birth, the date you assumed the primary parental status or duties, and your relationship to the PCR dependent.

Section B: PCR Dependent Information

Enter the PCR dependent's name, Social Security number, date of birth, and address (if different from yours).

Section C: Supporting Documentation Requirements

Select "yes" or "no" to certify that your PCR dependent is either under the age of 19 or from age 19 up to 26. By selecting "yes," you agree to submit all required supporting documentation for your PCR dependent with this Affidavit.

Section D: Signature of Employee/Annuitant

You must sign and date the Affidavit. By signing and dating this section, you are certifying under penalty of perjury that the information you are providing is true and correct.

Section E: For Employer Use Only

Active Employees: Your employer will complete this section. Retirees: Leave this section blank.

Note to Employer: By completing section E, you are: a.) certifying under penalty of perjury that you are authorized on behalf of your agency to review this Affidavit and make this eligibility determination, b.) validating that the submitted documentation meets the requirements based on age, and circumstances of the enrollment, and c.) ensuring your Human Resources Manager's approval of the enrollment recommendation.

Important Privacy Information

California Department of Human Resources Privacy Notice on Information Collection

This notice is provided pursuant to the Information Practices Act of 1977.

The California Department of Human Resources (CalHR), Benefits Division, is requesting the information specified on this form CalHR 025 Parent-Child Dependent Affidavit pursuant to the requirement set forth in California Code of Regulations Section 599.500(o).

The information collected will be used for verification of your relationship of the dependent child(ren), eligibility verification, payroll deduction, reporting to other state and federal agencies, coordination of benefits with other plans, solution of employee/retiree complaints, grievances, and appeal with the dental and/or vision plan and will be disclosed to The California Public Employees' Retirement System (CalPERS) and/or their contracted administrator, the State Controller's Office, and federal agencies that may require this information.

Individuals should not provide personal information that is not requested or required.

The submission of all information requested is mandatory unless otherwise noted. If you fail to provide the information requested, CalHR and your employer will not be able to allow your PCR to be enrolled onto your dental and/or vision plan(s).

Department Privacy Policy

The information collected by CalHR is subject to the limitations in the Information Practices Act of 1977 and state policy. For more information on how we care for your personal information, please read our Privacy Policy located at: http://www.calhr.ca.gov/pages/privacy-policy.aspx.

Access to Your Information

The CalHR Privacy Officer is responsible for maintaining collected records. You have a right to access records containing your personal information we maintain. To request access, contact:

CalHR Privacy Officer 1515 S Street, 500N Sacramento, CA 95811 916-324-0455 CalHRPrivacy@calhr.ca.gov